Indian Coast Guard completes 31 Years of Glorious Service

by OldSailor on February 1, 2008


coast guard ship varahaimageimage

Indian Coast Guard completes 31 years of glorious service on February 01, 2008. Indian Coast Guard was formed on 01 February 1977, with two old frigates (Kuthar and Kirpan) from the Indian Navy and a few small patrol vessels. The motto of the force is `VAYAM RAKSHAMAH; which means `WE PROTECT’.

With vast coast line of approximately 7500 km to guard, Indian Coast Guard with its Head Quarters at New Delhi functions with three Coast Guard Regions as shown in the map below.

  • Coast Guard Region West,with Regional Head Quarters at Mumbai
  • Coast Guard Region East,with Regional Head Quarters at Chennai
  • Coast Guard Region Andaman & Nicobar islands,with Regional Head Quarters at Port Blair

coast guard regions

Also,the Indian Coast Guard is the National Maritime Search and Rescue Co-ordinating Authority for executing / coordinating SAR missions in the Indian maritime SRR. The Coast Guard SAR response involves multi-mission stations located in all maritime states, Coast Guard ships and Coast Guard aircraft linked by communication network. Director General Coast Guard is the National Maritime SAR Coordinating Authority(NMSARCA).

Under NMSARCA the Indian Search and Rescue Region of India is divided into three SAR areas

  • with MRCC’s located at Mumbai,Chennai and PortBlair and
  • with subcentres (MRSC ) at
    • Porbandar,Goa,New Manglore, Mumbai and Kochi in the west
    • Vizag,Paradip and Haldia in the East
    • Diglipur,Campbellbay in Andaman and Nicobar

Here view a video slide show of Indian Coast Guard.

Did you enjoy this article? Please subscribe to RSS Feed to receive all the updates!

Related Posts:

  • No related posts found

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: