IMO presents International Maritime Prize to Mr. Alfred Popp (Canada)

by OldSailor on October 25, 2007


image image image

The prestigious International Maritime Prize for 2006 has been presented to Mr. Alfred Popp (Canada), former chairman of IMO’s Legal Committee on 22 October 2007.

Mr. Efthimios E. Mitropoulos, Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization, presented the prize during a special ceremony on Monday, 22 October 2007 during the 93rd session of IMO’s Legal Committee, which is being held in Panama City, Panama, from 22 to 26 October 2007.

The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually by IMO to the individual or organization judged to have made the most significant contribution to the work and objectives of IMO. The 98th session of the IMO Council in June 2007 took the decision to award the prize to Mr. Popp in recognition of his long and distinguished service to the cause of maritime safety and security and the protection of the marine environment, highlighted by his work representing Canada at IMO and his chairmanship of the IMO Legal Committee from 1993 to 2006.

The prize-giving ceremony was also addressed by His Excellency Mr. José Herran-Lima, the Canadian Ambassador in Panama, and was attended by Mrs. Alina Popp and by Mr. Fernando Solórzano, Administrator of the Panama Maritime Authority and Mr. Alberto Alemán Zubieta, Administrator of the Panama Canal Authority, as well as by delegations to the Legal Committee.

Mr. Popp is the second person to receive the 2006 prize, as the Council decided, for the first time, and exceptionally, to award the prize for that year to two recipients, the other prize being awarded, posthumously, to Mr. Igor Ponomarev (Russian Federation), who was the serving chairman of IMO’s Maritime Safety Committee (MSC) at the time of his sudden death in October 2006, aged just 41. Mr. Ponomarev’s widow was presented with the prize during the 83rd session of IMO’s Maritime Safety Committee, which was held in Copenhagen, Denmark, from 3 to 12 October (see IMO Briefing 35/2007, of 11 October 2007).

Previous winners of the prize since 2000:

  • 2005 – Dr. Tom Allan (United Kingdom)
  • 2004 – Mr. Luis Martínez (Mexico)
  • 2003 – Mr William O’Neil (Canada)
  • 2002 – Mr. Frank Wall (United Kingdom)
  • 2001 – Mr. Giuliano Pattofatto (Italy) (posthumously)
  • 2000 – Mr. Heikki Juhani Valkonen (Finland)

For further reading visit IMO.

OldSailor extends heartiest congratulations to Mr. Alfred Popp

Did you enjoy this article? Please subscribe to RSS Feed to receive all the updates!

Related Posts:

  • No related posts found

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: